T-minus 7 days until Sao Paulo, Brazil!

 

 

 

 

Image

 

image credit: riverbasin.org

It is hard for me to believe that in just one short week I will be headed to Brazil with 11 other WSU students and four faculty for 15 days. I feel like it was just yesterday I heard about this opportunity, and now it is almost finally here!  I am so thankful that all of my finances have been worked out so that I can go!

Earlier on in the semester I presented briefly on the Amazon River Basin (ARB). The ARB is the largest river basin in the world, and the largest portion of the ARB lies in Brazil. Through my graduate coursework I have learned a lot about the Columbia River Basin (CRB), and it amazes me that the ARB is about 10 times the size of the CRB. !!!!

I can’t wait to go to Brazil and see how differently they are with their culture and ways of life. I mentioned my interests in river basins; I plan on really focusing on how Brazilians look at ‘the river’ (including tributaries, or even other natural water bodies) when I’m there.  I can’t even hypothesize how their culture views water bodies because I am going to Brazil to learn, explore and understand.

I look forward to truly opening my eyes to a different culture and different perspectives, and keeping track of what I notice through my blog. I really hope that you all enjoy reading!

As always, GO COUGS! 

Leave a Reply

